The island was used by the Nubians to settle in it and they called it Jet Narty. In the year of 1899 lord Kitchener take the island to be a place where his campaign can rest, and call it the lord's house. After his death, this island belonged to the ministry of agriculture.
The island is rich of its plants which were imported from all over the world. The island has four doors, the first is in the north, the second is in the south, the third is in the middle and the forth is consecrated for the workers of the island.